The 1 July 2026 notification prints registration and fee payment from 1 to 21 July 2026. The 20 July 2026 corrigendum updates vacancies only. Prelims on 29 August 2026 are in the IBPS calendar of 16 January 2026. The prelims result link is dated 15 October 2026, and the scorecard and mains call letter are dated 22 October 2026. The mains information handout is for 1 November 2026, which is also the calendar date. The notification places the interview in November or December 2026 and provisional allotment in January 2027.
Notification
Apply
Prelims
Prelims result
Mains call letter
Mains
Interview
Provisional allotment
Event
CRP SPL-XV
CRP SPL-XVI
Notification
1 Jul 2025
1 Jul 2026
Apply
1–21 Jul 2025
1–21 Jul 2026
Prelims
August 2025
29 Aug 2026
Prelims result
September 2025
15 Oct 2026
Mains call letter
September/October 2025
22 Oct 2026
Mains
November 2025
1 Nov 2026
Interview
December 2025/January 2026
November/December 2026
Provisional allotment
January/February 2026
January 2027
Where a 2026 date is still TBA, the conducting body has not published it. Check the official notification linked on this page before you rely on a date.
Eligibility
IBPS SO Eligibility Criteria 2026
Education
Qualifications are as on 21 July 2026, from a university, institution or board recognised by the Government of India or approved by a government regulatory body. No equivalent qualification is accepted, and only one post may be chosen.
IT Officer (Scale I)a 4-year engineering or technology degree in computer science, computer applications, information technology, electronics, electronics and telecommunications, electronics and communication, or electronics and instrumentation; or a post-graduate degree in the electronics or computer streams named in the notification; or a graduate who has passed DOEACC B level.
Agricultural Field Officer (Scale I)a 4-year degree in agriculture or an allied stream named in the notification.
Rajbhasha Adhikari (Scale I)a post-graduate degree in Hindi with English at graduation, or in Sanskrit with English and Hindi at graduation.
Law Officer (Scale I)an LL.B. and enrolment as an advocate with the Bar Council.
HR/Personnel Officer (Scale I)a graduate plus a two-year full-time post-graduate degree or diploma in personnel management, industrial relations, HR, HRD, social work or labour law.
Marketing Officer (Scale I)a graduate plus a two-year full-time MBA (Marketing), MMS (Marketing), or PGDBA, PGDBM, PGPM or PGDM with marketing as the specialisation. Posts other than IT Officer also need a computer certificate, diploma or degree, or computer or IT studied as a subject at school or college.
Age limit
20–30 years
As on 1 July 2026, born from 2 July 1996 to 1 July 2006, both dates inclusive. SC/ST get 5 years, OBC (Non-Creamy Layer) 3 years, persons with benchmark disabilities 10 years, and eligible ex-servicemen, Emergency Commissioned Officers and Short Service Commissioned Officers 5 years. SC/ST/OBC relaxation is cumulative with only one of the other concessions. General and EWS candidates have no age relaxation.
Nationality
Citizen of India, or a subject of Nepal or Bhutan, or a Tibetan refugee who came to India before 1 January 1962 to settle permanently, or a person of Indian origin from the countries named in the notification. Categories other than Indian citizens need an eligibility certificate from the Government of India.
Vacancy Breakdown 2026
IT Officer (Scale I)376
Agricultural Field Officer (Scale I)370
Law Officer (Scale I)125
Rajbhasha Adhikari (Scale I)94
HR/Personnel Officer (Scale I)60
Marketing Officer (Scale I)10
Total vacancies: 1,035 (indicative — official numbers from notification)
Syllabus
IBPS SO Syllabus 2026 — Topic-wise
Master these topics and you master the exam. Click any subject to expand its complete topic list.
Reasoning (separately timed in prelims and mains)
Illustrative handout types: classification, analogy, word rearrangement, inference, symbol operations and data sufficiency
Quantitative Aptitude for IT, Agriculture, HR/Personnel and Marketing
Computation, quantitative reasoning and interpretation of tables and graphs
Grammar, vocabulary, sentence completion, synonyms, antonyms and comprehension
Descriptive paper: essay and comprehension, typed on the computer
General Awareness with Special Reference to the Banking Industry, for Law Officer and Rajbhasha Adhikari
Past and present events, socio-economic developments and banking-industry developments
Objective and, where notified, descriptive questions on the post applied for
IT, agriculture, law, HR/personnel, marketing or Rajbhasha, as named for that post
Exam Pattern
IBPS SO Exam Pattern 2026
Section
Questions
Marks
Time
English Language
25
25
20 min
Reasoning
25
25
20 min
Quantitative Aptitude
25
25
20 min
Professional Knowledge
25
50
20 min
Total
100
125
80 min
Negative marking: In the objective tests, one fourth of the marks assigned to a question is deducted for each wrong answer; a blank answer has no penalty.
Section
Questions
Marks
Time
English Language
30
30
25 min
Reasoning
40
40
35 min
Quantitative Aptitude
30
30
25 min
Professional Knowledge (Objective)
50
100
40 min
Descriptive Paper (Essay and Comprehension)
2
25
30 min
Total
152
225
155 min
⚠️ Negative marking applies to objective sections. Descriptive section is evaluated separately.
Selection Process
1
Prelims
2
Mains
3
Interview
4
Provisional allotment
Earlier cycles
IBPS SO — previous exams
Earlier cycles use the months and indicative vacancy totals printed in the IBPS notifications still linked on ibps.in. The current SPL-XV page does not list an allotment notice, and IBPS has not published a single category cutoff.
December 2025/January 2026 in the notification. Provisional allotment January/February 2026. The current SPL-XV page does not list an allotment PDF.
Vacancies
1,007 indicative in the 1 Jul 2025 notification
Cutoff
TBA
Registration in the notification is 1–21 July 2025. Annexure totals are IT 203, Agricultural Field Officer 310, Marketing 350, Rajbhasha 78, Law 56 and HR 10. Several banks are marked not reported and are outside 1,007.
February/March 2025 in the notification. Notice of 15 Jan 2026 says the provisional allotment process stands completed.
Vacancies
896 indicative in the 1 Aug 2024 notification
Cutoff
TBA
Registration in the notification is 1–21 August 2024. Annexure totals are Agricultural Field Officer 346, Marketing 205, IT 170, Law 125, HR 25 and Rajbhasha 25.
FAQs
IBPS SO Frequently Asked Questions
The IBPS calendar dated 16 January 2026 schedules CRP SPL-XVI prelims on 29 August 2026 and the mains on 1 November 2026. The mains information handout linked on 22 October 2026 is also dated 1 November 2026. The mains call letter, scores and scribe links were posted on 22 October 2026, and the prelims result link is dated 15 October 2026. As of 30 October 2026 the exam has not been held.
The annexure updated as on 20 July 2026 totals 1,035 indicative Scale-I posts: IT Officer 376, Agricultural Field Officer 370, Law Officer 125, Rajbhasha Adhikari 94, HR/Personnel Officer 60 and Marketing Officer 10. UCO Bank and Union Bank of India are marked not reported, so they are outside that total. Allotment uses the vacancies the banks actually report.
The 1 July 2026 detailed notification prints registration and fee payment from 1 July 2026 to 21 July 2026. The 20 July 2026 corrigendum updates vacancies and says every other term is unchanged. The SPL-XVI page does not list an extension to 26 July; that later close date belongs to CRP PO/MT-XVI, not this exam. The fee is Rs 175 for SC/ST/PwBD candidates and Rs 850 for all others. Educational qualification is reckoned as on 21 July 2026.
For IT Officer, Agricultural Field Officer, HR/Personnel Officer and Marketing Officer, prelims are 100 questions for 125 marks in 80 minutes: English, Reasoning and Quantitative Aptitude are 25 questions and 25 marks each, and Professional Knowledge is 25 questions and 50 marks, 20 minutes each. Their mains objective tests are 150 questions for 200 marks in 125 minutes, plus an English descriptive paper of 2 questions for 25 marks in 30 minutes (155 minutes and 225 marks in all). Law Officer and Rajbhasha Adhikari have General Awareness with Special Reference to the Banking Industry instead of Quantitative Aptitude, and their mains professional-knowledge objective test is 45 minutes. Rajbhasha descriptive paper is professional knowledge in English and Hindi; Hindi typing uses Inscript or Remington (GAIL). In mains, every test except Professional Knowledge is qualifying, and shortlisting uses Professional Knowledge.
The 1 July 2026 notification places the interview in November or December 2026 and provisional allotment in January 2027. No interview date is on the SPL-XVI page as of 30 October 2026, so the date is TBA. Interview is 100 marks. The minimum is 40 percent, or 35 percent for SC/ST/OBC/PwBD. Online mains and interview are weighted 80:20. The mains information handout says its question types are illustrative and not exhaustive.
Age is 20 to 30 years as on 1 July 2026, for candidates born from 2 July 1996 to 1 July 2006, both dates inclusive. SC/ST get 5 years, OBC (Non-Creamy Layer) 3 years, persons with benchmark disabilities 10 years, and eligible ex-servicemen, ECOs and SSCOs 5 years. SC/ST/OBC relaxation is cumulative with only one of the other concessions. A wrong objective answer costs one fourth of the marks assigned to that question, which is more than one fourth of a mark where the question carries 2 marks.
Start Your IBPS SO Preparation Today
10,000+ practice questions. Live exam tracker. Zero cost.